Water and Sewer Authority (WASA) Board of Directors

Washington, DC, DC

Total public member:               12 (6 principal members, 6 alternates)          

Method of Appointment:          Appointed by Mayor, confirmed by Council           

Length of Appointment:          4 years

Residency:                               Must be DC resident

Paid board:                               Stipend



DC Water is governed by a Board of Directors consisting of 11 principal and 11 alternate members. The Board is composed of six District of Columbia representatives, two each from Montgomery and Prince George’s counties in Maryland, and one from Fairfax County in Virginia.

The Mayor of the District of Columbia appoints, and the DC Council confirms, all six District Board members and alternates, including the Chairman. In addition, the Mayor appoints the five principal and alternate members who represent the surrounding jurisdictions based on executive submissions from those jurisdictions.

DC Water may only take action on policy matters after it receives a favorable vote of no less than six members of the Board of Directors. All Board members participate in decisions directly affecting the management of joint-use facilities. The District of Columbia members participate in those matters that affect District ratepayers and in setting fees for various services.



Individuals with professional and life related to the industry









Apply for this position

Apply with Indeed
We've received your resume. Click here to update it.
Attach resume as .pdf, .doc, .docx, .odt, .txt, or .rtf (limit 5MB) or Paste resume

Paste your resume here or Attach resume file

Human Check*